Planning commision of India

Indiainfo The Planning Commission of India was based on 15 March 1950. It developed the Five-Year Plans of India. On 17 August 2014, it was dissolved as well as replaced by the NITI Aayog.

Planning Commission Background

In today's 'today in background', you can review the Planning Commission, which although currently scrapped, was a vital component in India's business economics as well as polity. This is a crucial topic for the IAS exam. The Planning Commission was a Government of India-institution and also its primary function was to develop the country's Five-Year Plans.
The Five-Year Plans were the strategies crafted for the Indian economic situation. The idea was influenced by Joseph Stalin's Five Year Plan in the USSR which was carried out in the late 1920s.
Also prior to freedom, a National Planning Committee was established by Subhas Chandra Bose in 1938. He was convinced by scientist Meghnad Saha to establish up one.
Initially, distinguished designer M Visvesvaraya was heading it. He was changed by Jawaharlal Nehru after he stepped down.
The British government had likewise created an Advisory Planning Board headed by K C Neogy. It operated for 2 years from 1944 to 1946.
After freedom, Nehru established the Planning Commission in 1950 to develop financial plans and also cause a well-being state.
The very first Five Year Plan focused on agriculture greater than market, which was focused extra in the 2nd Five Year Plan. The thrust got on a combined economic situation.
Planning Commission Details
The chairman of the Planning Commission was the Prime Minister ex-officio. The Deputy Chairman had the ranking of a closet minister.
Other fulltime members were specialists from various areas like business economics, science, agriculture, industry, business, administration, and so on.
Other members of the Commission additionally consisted of ministers of financing, chemicals, home, agriculture, fertilizers, regulation, infotech, etc.
The Commission evaluated the resources of the nation, product, human as well as resources. Then, it generated plans for the well balanced application of the resources.
It likewise evaluated the development attained as well as the adjustments needed in plan or device for ideal development of the economy as well as the country.
The Narendra Modi federal government in 2014 announced the decision to do away with the Planning Commission as well as replace it with the NITI Aayog which is a more durable organization as well as one that is a lot more versatile to alter.
The 12th Five Year Plan was going on from 2012 to 2017.
The dissolution of the commission marked the end of a Nehruvian tradition.

Related Articles