Indian languages

Indiainfo Indian languages, languages spoken in the state of India, generally identified as belonging to the following families: Indo-European (the Indo-Iranian branch particularly), Dravidian, Austroasiatic (Munda particularly), as well as Sino-Tibetan (Tibeto-Burman specifically).

Of the thousands of languages spoken in India, 22 are pointed out in the constitution of India: Assamese, Bengali (Bangla), Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, and also Urdu all belong to the Indo-Aryan group of the Indo-Iranian branch of Indo-European; Kannada, Malayalam, Tamil, as well as Telugu come from the Dravidian language family; and, of the three continuing to be languages, Manipuri (Meitei), talked in Manipur, as well as Bodo, spoken in northeastern India, are typically classified as belonging to the Tibeto-Burman branch of the Sino-Tibetan language household, and also Santali is identified as a Munda language. Except for the Khasian languages spoken in Meghalaya, northeastern India, and the Nicobarese languages, talked in the Nicobar Islands in the Andaman Sea lying simply to the northwest of the Indonesian island of Sumatra-- both of which are classified within the Mon-Khmer subfamily of Austroasiatic-- the various other languages of the Austronesian family are spoken in Southeast Asia.

Related Articles