political map of India

Indiainfo India is divided into 28 States (more subdivided right into areas) as well as 8 union regions including the National resources region (i.e., Delhi). India's boundaries run an overall length of 15,200 kilometres (9,400 mi).

Its boundaries with Pakistan and Bangladesh were marked according to the Radcliffe Line, which was created in 1947 throughout Partition of India. Its western boundary with Pakistan expands approximately 3,323 km (2,065 mi), splitting the Punjab area and also leaving the borders of the Thar Desert as well as the Rann of Kutch. This boundary leaves the Indian states of Jammu as well as Kashmir, Rajasthan, Gujarat, and Punjab. Both nations delineated a Line of Control (LoC) to work as the informal border between the Indian as well as Pakistan-administered areas of Jammu as well as Kashmir. India claims the entire state of Jammu as well as Kashmir, that includes Pakistan-administered Kashmir as well as China-administered Aksai Chin, which, according to India are illegally occupied areas.

India's boundary with Bangladesh runs 4,096.70 km (2,545.57 mi). West Bengal, Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and also Mizoram are the states which share the border with Bangladesh. Prior to 2015, there were 92 enclaves of Bangladesh on Indian soil as well as 106 territories of India were on Bangladeshi soil. These territories were ultimately exchanged in order to simplify the boundary. After the exchange, India shed roughly 40 km2 (10,000 acres) to Bangladesh.

The Line of Actual Control (LAC) is the efficient boundary between India as well as the People's Republic of China. It goes across 4,057 km along the Indian states of Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Sikkim and also Arunachal Pradesh. The boundary with Burma (Myanmar) expands approximately 1,643 km (1,021 mi) along the southerly borders of India's northeastern states viz. Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur as well as Mizoram. Located amidst the Himalayan range, India's boundary with Bhutan runs 699 km (434 mi). Sikkim, West Bengal, Assam as well as Arunachal Pradesh are the states which share the boundary with Bhutan. The boundary with Nepal runs 1,751 km (1,088 mi) along the foothills of the Mountain range in northern India. Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal as well as Sikkim are the states which sha

Related Articles